yoga teacher trainingBy Dr. Paul Jerard, E-RYT 500

The history of Yoga is rich and complex. Yogic methodology is an art, science, and way of life that has been evolving before people knew how to write things down; and as such, is an interesting, but mysterious body of knowledge. What we know about Yogic practices helps us determine our future, our history, and our past.  It is believed that Yoga began around 3,000 B.C. This evidence is based on stone seals, which were excavated from the Indus valley region. However, the existence of stone seals, with human figures practicing asanas, only means that this is as far back as we can trace it, by excavating artifacts.

When we find artifacts of anything, it is an indication of an ongoing practice that pre-dated the artifact itself. Therefore, it is safe to guess that Yogic practices have existed for more than 5,000 years. The Indus-Sarasvati civilization can be credited, also, for creating the Vedas, which are the oldest existing scriptures in the world.  The study of Yogic methodology and the Vedas can be linked together for thousands of years.

Pre-Vedic or Vedic?

Therefore, Yogic practices in their oldest form are not practiced today. How can I say this? None of us knows if there was a Pre-Vedic Yoga style or if there has always been a symbiotic relationship between Yoga and the Vedas. The oldest known form of Yogic methodology is referred to as “Vedic Yoga,” and sometimes it is called “Archaic Yoga.” You may also see this referred to as classical or simply, classic Yoga. Components of the oldest style can be seen within the nine main Yogic styles.


There are nine main styles at this time that are commonly practiced around the world. Many of these styles, like Vedic Yoga, also have deep history roots. Many people say “What’s in the past is in the past,” but that doesn’t work with Yogic philosophy or methodology. The following nine main types of Yoga that are commonly practiced today are:

• Karma

• Jnana

• Raja

• Mantra

• Laya

• Tantra

• Hatha

• Bhakti

• Kundalini

Hatha is the most commonly known, but the other eight styles are widely practiced in the world today. Out of the nine main styles, it is believed that Jnana (union through knowledge) may be most closely related to Classical Vedic style. To study scriptures, gain knowledge, and apply wisdom to life, are some of the objectives of modern Jnana. Mental, spiritual, and emotional development would follow a steady practice of Jnana.

The Vedic style would also teach one to focus on the mind. Now, if you practice one of the popular styles of today, how could you tailor your practice toward wisdom and spiritual beauty? It should be understood, that all of the styles mentioned lead toward living in harmony with the world around us.

The deeper aspects of Yoga training are found in steady practice, application toward life, and this Yogic journey of self-discovery. We may never precisely know what Classical Vedic Yoga practice resembled, but with a little homework and patience, we can live in a state of harmony with the world around us.

© Copyright 2011 – Paul Jerard / Aura Publications

To see our complete selection of Yoga teacher training courses, please feel free to visit the following link.

Free report, newsletter, videos, podcasts, and e-Book: “Yoga in Practice.”

If you are a teacher, studio owner, blogger, e-zine, or website publisher, and are in need of quality content, please feel free to use my blog entries (articles). Please be sure to reprint each article, as is, including the resource box above. Namaste!

Share This Article